Dreamers

Remember that time I started a blog and only made a few posts. Yeah, well I can explain part of the reason: the internet. The internet here at my home sometimes chooses to work, and other times it simply won’t connect to much of the cyber world. In the words of this land.. Dui Bu Qi… (sorry). Yet I’m not really sorry. The past few months were marked with marvelous adventures that maybe I’ll take time to tell in the coming days. Malfunctioning internet also has its way of forcing my life to connect with others that I live near. This takes me to last Thursday morning, I almost wrote Friday, because it totally felt like a Friday (yay for random holidays).

SunniesandNeibsLet me first say– I love living in a community. Sometimes when the selfish self is wanting to have control, I don’t love it. But when I’m thinking about truth… I love living in close proximity to my neighbors. It’s these people that are there for me when I want to share my joys, troubles, cookies, recent craft project with, or even a roll of toilet paper when the need arises. Actually the last one never happened, but we would totally provide if one was in need. These are the people that message me when they’re going to the import store to ask if I need anything, because we all know that traveling 1 hour each way to get a stick of butter is kind of troublesome. These are the people who come and plop themselves on my floor at the end of the day when we’re trying to load an episode of something on the internet and it takes 20 minutes to load 5 minutes. We sit and talk about life and share what’s going on. It’s kind of one of my favorite parts of life here.

So Thursday morning started with my mother dearest texting me. I decided to get out of bed and skype with her before my next meeting. Fast forward to the next meeting. With coffee in hand and house shoes on, I knocked at her door. Went in and sat on the most comfortable couch this building has. I ate cake– which was close to angel-food cake. Any cake like angel-food cake is good in my book. Yay for finding it at walmart (just took 3 years to find…). We sat and chatted. That was the point. Drink coffee and talk. We did just that. We talked about life and the future and this girl has her way with me. She encourages me when I become fearful and sends me back to truth. She shares blog posts that she’s read lately and saves quotes to share with me. Yet its when I express my fears and my desire to throw in the towel, she cheers me in the other direction. She wants me to not worry, but find peace for today. We shared ideas. We want to be used and poured out in what ever way our heavenly Father sees fit. But sometimes those ideas have to be held with open hands. No, not sometimes. Always. Though we dream, we have to keep surrendering those dreams into His hands. Dreaming with open hands is hard, but it’s also exciting because it’s not so much about me and my dream but about me trusting my God to be the one who places opportunities and glimpses of glory into my life every.single.day.

So cheers to neighbors.

 

Leave a Reply

